Scientific Council
The Ciência Viva School’s Scientific Council is composed by national and international referential people related to science and education.

Alexandre Quintanilha

Worked approximately twenty years at the University Of California, Berkeley, where he was director of the Center for Environmental Studies. Now, he is director of Center for Experimental Cytology and professor at Biomedical Sciences Institute Abel Salazar (ICBAS), University of Porto. He was director of the Institute for Molecular Biology (IBMC), Porto. He directs the workgroup Human Related Biotechnology of OCDE. He is president of the Scientific Council of Pavilion of Knowledge - Ciência Viva.

Ana Maria Bettencourt

With a degree and master in Psychology at the University of Paris VIII - Vincennes, and PH.D in Education Sciences at the University of Paris V - René Descartes - Sorbonne, in 2009, Ana Bettencourt was elected by the Assembly of the Republic of Portugal to be president of the National Council for Education. She strives actively for civic involvement in education, higher education and women rights. Grand Officer of the Order of Infante D. Henrique (Portugal), Commander of the Order of Merit (France) and Grand Officer of the Order of Leopold II (Belgium).

Arsélio Pato de Carvalho

Member of the National Council for Education, he is the Honorary President of the Center for Neuroscience and Cell Biology of Coimbra (CNC), which he founded in 1989. He is professor at the University of Coimbra, of which he was rector from 2002 to 2003. He is also Adviser in the Education Service in the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation (since 2006).

Carlos Fiolhais

He is professor in the Physics Department of the University of Coimbra and is Director of the General Library of the University of Coimbra. He created and directs the Ciência Viva Center Rómulo de Carvalho. He won the Golden Globe of 2004 for Merit and Excellence in Science, given by SIC and "Caras" in 2005. Order of Infante D. Henrique in 2005. He won Innovation Awards of the III Millennium and Rómulo de Carvalho Forum of the University of Évora in 2006.

Manuel Paiva

He was president of the Committee Life Sciences of the European Space Agency (ESA) (1989 - 1992), vice-president of the Committee Microgravity of ESA (1992 - 1994), member of the ESA’s Scientific Committee for the International Space Station (1994 - 2000) and president of ESA Educative Funds for the International Space Station (2003 - 2005). He took part in ten space missions of NASA and ESA, three of which as principal investigator.


Maria do Carmo Fonseca

Pessoa Award (2010), she is professor at the Faculty of Medicine of Lisbon. Since 2001, she coordinates the Institute for Molecular Medicine (IMM) of the Faculty of Medicine. She belongs to the Portuguese Academy of Medicine and to the Academy of Sciences of Lisbon. She was three times awarded with the Investigation Award Pfizer, given by the Medical Sciences Society, in Lisbon. In Spain, she received the DuPont Award for Science (2002), and she was the first woman awarding this Iberian prize, created in 1992.

Maria Helena Costa Salema

PH.D in Education, specialized in Pedagogy, at the Faculty of Science of the University of Lisbon (1996) Master in Education, specialized in Pedagogic Supervision and Orientation, at the Faculty of Science of the University of Lisbon (1986) and Degree in German Philology at the Faculty of Letters of the University of Lisbon. She is professor in the Institute for Education at the University of Lisbon. Research areas: Learn and Teach how to Think, Education for Citizenship and Training for Teachers
Recently, she is National Coordinator and member of the director group of the European Council Project “Education for Democratic Citizenship” (2002-2005. She is member, as an expert, of Expert Network on Indicators for European, Active and Democratic Citizenship, coordinated by the “Center for research on lifelong learning” of “Joint Research Center” of European Commission and supported by the European Council.